Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Einstein Workshop Geometric and Topological Combinatorics

Berlin Mathematical School

WARNING: phishing attack. Several speakers and participants of this workshop have been contacted via phone and asked for their credit card information for the purpose of a hotel booking. We have not contacted and will not contact anyone this way. Please be careful!

Group photo

Place: Room 006, Freie Universität Berlin, Königin Luise Straße 24/26, 14195 Berlin.

Dates: October 29-31, 2018.

Suggested arrival Sunday, October 28 and departure Thursday, November 1, (but see the companion Einstein Workshop on Algebraic Combinatorics at the same location organised by TU Berlin on Nov. 1-2).



This will be a three day workshop on Geometric and Topological Combinatorics, with lectures in the morning and time for discussions and networking in the afternoons. It is primarily funded by the Einstein Foundation Berlin, as part of Francisco Santos' Einstein Visiting Fellowship within the Discrete Geometry Group at FU Berlin for 2016-2019. Additional funding is provided by the project Discretization in Geometry and Dynamics (SFB Transregio 109) and the Berlin Mathematical School.


Giulia Codenotti
(FU Berlin)

Jean-Philippe Labbé
(FU Berlin)

Jorge Olarte
(FU Berlin)

Francisco Santos
(U of Cantabria)

Jonathan Spreer
(FU Berlin)


Here you may find a list of abstracts of all talks in the conference.


  Sunday 28th Monday 29th Tuesday 30th Wednesday 31st

Pick your tag


Welcome words

09:00-09:45   Clément Maria José Samper
Arnau Padrol
09:45-10:15   Coffee break Coffee break Coffee break
10:15-11:00   João Paixão Kristin Shaw
Matthias Schymura

Poster short


Cesar Ceballos
Poster session
    Lunch Lunch Lunch
14:00-14:45   Hailun Zheng    Jacinta Torres
14:45-15:15   Coffee break    Coffee break
19:00 / 19:15 Get together at Berliner Hof
  Conference dinner at Gaffel Haus

After the coffee breaks in the afternoon there is time for collaboration between workshop participants.



Registration for poster presentation is now closed.

The list of posters can also be found in the workshop program

  • Shalva Beriashvili, Georgian Technical University, Some combinatorial properties of triangulations of polyhedrons and their applications

  • Snigdha Bharati Choudhury, Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad, Strong independence and it’s consequences on convex sets

  • Brian Davis, University of Kentucky, Fundamental Parallelepiped Posets

  • Paul Görlach, Max Planck Institut MIS, Leipzig, Ideals of linear space arrangements invariant under coordinate hyperplane reflections

  • Magda Hlavacek, University of California Berkeley, A geometric proof of the cubical Dehn-Sommerville equations

  • Shariefuddin Pirzada, University of Kashmir, On the energy of graphs

  • Mario Sanchez, University of California Berkeley, Poset Hopf Monoids

  • Liam Solus, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Symmetric Decompositions and Real-rooted Polynomials in Algebraic Combinatorics

  • Mariel Supina, University of California Berkeley, The Hopf monoid of orbit polytopes and its character group

  • Müge Taşkın, Boğaziçi Üniversity, Generalized RSK insertion on Tower tableaux

  • Nurdan Ünlü, Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University, Ehrhart Theory and Minkowski Sum

  • Julianne Vega, University of Kentucky, On neighborhood complexes of k- constructible graphs

  • Andrs R. Vindas Meléndez, University of Kentucky, Fixed Subpolytopes of the Permutahedron

  • Charles Isaac Wolf, Ben Gurion University, Counting Ordinary Lines in Complex Space

Social Events

For those who will be in Berlin on Sunday evening there will be a self-paid get together. On Tuesday, October 30, there will be an (also self-paid) conference dinner. If you want to attend to any of these please sign up at https://doodle.com/poll/6wrethmgynnqdp6k. Times and places are:

Please also note that on Wednesday, October 31, there is a get together of the companion Einstein Workshop in Algebraic Combinatorics at Luise near the conference venue. See  their conference webpage for details.



Full name Institution
Ahmet Berkay Kebeci Koç University
Ahmet Seven Middle East Technical University, Ankara, Turkey
Akiyoshi Tsuchiya Osaka University
Andrés R. VIndas Meléndez University of Kentucky
Andrew Newman TU Berlin
Antonio Macchia Università degli Studi di Bari
Arnau Padrol Sorbonne Université
Brian Davis University of Kentucky
Büşra Sert Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University
Carlos Henrique Felicio Poncio FU Berlin
Cesar Ceballos University of Vienna
Charles Isaac Wolf Ben Gurion University
Christian Haase FU Berlin
Christian Stump TU Berlin
Christodoulos Savva TU Berlin
Christopher Borger Otto-von-Guericke Universität Magdeburg
Clément Maria INRIA Sophia Antipolis
Davide Lofano TU Berlin
Dinh Van Le University of Osnabrück
Evgeniya Lagoda FU Berlin
Fannie Yuen Remerge GmbH
Felicia Burtscher TU Berlin
Felix Schröder TU Berlin
Francisco Santos U of Cantabria / FU Berlin
Gaku Liu Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences
Giulia Codenotti FU Berlin
Günter Rote FU Berlin
Hana Kourimska TU Berlin
Hailun Zheng University of Michigan
Ibrahim El Agami TU Berlin
Ioanna-Iro Eleftheriadou TU Berlin
Iskander Aliev Cardiff University
Jacinta Torres Karlsruhe Institute for Technology
Jan-Marten Brunink Universität Osnabrück
Jean-Philippe Labbé FU Berlin
João Paixão Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
John M Sullivan TU Berlin
Jonathan Kliem FU Berlin
Jonathan Spreer FU Berlin
Jorge Olarte FU Berlin
José Samper University of Miami
Juan Camilo Torres Universidad de los Andes
Julianne Vega University of Kentucky
Kemal Rose TU Berlin
Kristin Shaw Universitetet i Oslo
Kristóf Huszár IST Austria
Laith Rastanawi FU Berlin
Lena Walter FU Berlin
Liam Solus KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Lorenzo Venturello Universität Osnabrück
Luca Moci Universita' di Bologna
Magda Hlavacek UC Berkeley
Mahmut Levent Doğan TU Berlin
Marc Kegel HU Berlin
Marco Macchia Université Libre de Bruxelles
Marie Brandenburg FU Berlin
Mariel Supina University of California, Berkeley
Marika Khachidze Georgian Technical University
Mario Sanchez University of California, Berkeley
Marko Berghoff HU Berlin
Marta Panizzut TU Berlin
Matthias Schymura École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
Mónica Blanco Gómez None
Moussa Benoumhani University of M'sila
Muge Taskin Bogazici Üniversity, Istanbul,Türkey
Müge Taşkın Boğaziçi Üniversitesi
Muhammad Imran United Arab Emirates University, UAE
Neha IISc Bangalore, India
Niklas Affolter TU Berlin
Nurdan Ünlü Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University
Oscar Iglesias Valiño Universidad de Cantabria
Paul Görlach Max Planck Institute MIS Leipzig
Paul Mücksch Ruhr Universität Bochum
Pavel Paták IST Austria
Pranshu Gupta FU Berlin
Serhii Avvakumov IST Austria
Shalva Beriashvili Georgian Technical University
Shariefuddin Pirzada University of Kashmir
Simon Andres Soto Ochoa Technical University Eindhoven
Snigdha Bharati Choudhury Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad
Sophia Elia FU Berlin
Sophie Lawniczak Imperial College
Spencer Backman Hebrew Univesity
Stratoglou Efstratios Aristotle Univercity of Thessaloniki
Tim Seynnaeve Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences
Viola Meszaros Berlin
Yangwen Sun HU Berlin
Zafeirakis Zafeirakopoulos Gebze Technical University
Zeinab Toghani Queen Mary University of London
Zuzana Patáková IST Austria


The workshop will take place at Room 006 of Königin Luise Straße 24/26, 14195 Berlin, located on Freie Universität Berlin Dahlem Campus.

Directions: From U3 station Dahlemdorf, walk 450m West on Königin-Luise-Straße. From X83 Bus stop "Museen Dahlem", walk 100m West on Königin-Luise-Straße. From X83 Bus stop "Arnimallee", walk 100m East on Königin-Luise-Straße.