CRC 1029 - TurbIn

Shockless Explosion Combustion
Shockless Explosion Combustion
Turbulent auto ignition
Turbulent auto ignition

Gas turbines provide about one fifth of the world wide power demand, with an upwards trend. Numerous efforts have been spent to achieve optimal efficiency. Still, only overall efficiencies of ca. 40% have been reached.

To cross this frontier is this project's goal. Its holistic view of the machine and the collaboration of numerous disciplines is what makes CRC 1029 stand out. The CRC is predominantly settled at Technische Universität Berlin.

One of our research interests is to replace the classical turbine's constant-pressure combustion with a more efficient constant-volume combustion. Contrary to a CI engine, a gas turbine has no contained combustion chamber; a different means to prevent the combusting gas from expansion must therefore be invoked. A dynamic approximation to this mode of operation can be achieved through detonative combustion. The strong pressure waves associated with detonations do however lead to short life spans and high maintenance efforts. An alternative is the controlled, homogeneous auto-ignition of the fuel.

At Free Universitity we are investigating the the theoretical requirements that enable this mode of operation. In particular, we are concerned with the Shockless Explosion Combustion (SEC), a novel operation mode for gas turbines.

To this end, we developed a reduced process model and a simulation. Our results are used in cooperation with Technical University Berlin to continuously update the requirements on suitable fuels and a planed demonstrator.

Our current focus lies on the transition from the Brayton cycle to a SEC in a live gas turbine as well as the dimensioning of a turbine plenum. Mathematically speaking, we are working on the development of a one-dimensional turbulence model and its embedding into a finite volume code, and the development of numerical schemes for the simulation and optimization of flows in complex geometries, especially cut-cell schemes, respectively.

Geophysical Fluid Dynamics

SFB 1029 - TurbIn

Shockless Explosion Combustion
Shockless Explosion Combustion
Turbulenter Selbstzündprozess
Turbulenter Selbstzündprozess

Gasturbinen decken in etwa ein Fünftel des weltweiten Energiebedarfs ab, mit steigender Tendenz. Es sind vielfache Anstrengungen unternommen worden, um eine optimale Effizienz zu erreichen, Dennoch ist es bis heute nur gelungen, Gesamtwirkungsgrade um circa 40% zu erreichen.

Diese Grenze aufzubrechen ist das Anliegen dieses Projektes. Den mehrheitlich an der Technischen Universität angesiedelten Sonderforschungsbereich 1029 der DFG zeichnet dabei eine breite Kooperation verschiedener Disziplinen und eine ganzheitliche Betrachtung der Maschine aus.

Eines der dabei verfolgten Konzepte ist, die Gleichdruckverbrennung von klassischen Turbinen zugunsten einer energetisch günstigeren Gleichraumverbrennung aufzugeben. In einer Turbine gibt es im Gegensatz zu einem Verbrennungsmotor keinen abgeschlossenen Brennraum; das verbrennende Gas muss also anderweitig an der Ausdehnung gehindert werden. Eine dynamische Annäherung an die Gleichraumverbrennung lässt sich durch detonative Verbrennung erreichen. Die dabei entstehenden starken Stoßwellen führen jedoch zu kurzen Lebensdauern und hohem Wartungsaufwand. Die Alternative ist die kontrollierte, homogene Selbstzündung des Treibstoffs.

An der Freien Universität erforschen wir die theoretischen Rahmenbedingungen, die eine solche Betriebsweise möglich machen. Insbesondere untersuchen wir die Shockless Explosion Combustion (SEC), die ein völlig neuartiges Betriebskonzept für Gasturbinen darstellt.

Dazu haben wir ein reduziertes Modell des Prozesses und eine dazugehörige Simulation produziert. Ergebnisse dieser Betrachtungen verwenden wir, um laufend in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Strömungsmechanik und Technische Akustik der Technischen Universität Berlin die Anforderungen an Brennstoffe und einen geplanten Demonstrator abzustecken.

Forschungsschwerpunkte sind derzeit der Übergang vom Joule-Prozess zu einer SEC in einer laufenden Gasturbine sowie die Auslegung eines Turbinenplenums hinter den Brennrohren. Thematisch geht es dabei um die Entwicklung von eindimensionalen Turbulenzmodellen und ihre Einbettung in Finite-Volumen-Codes, bzw. um die Entwicklung von numerischen Verfahren zur Simulation und Optimierung von Strömungen in komplexen Geometrien, insbesondere Cut-Cell-Verfahren.