Who is the course intended for?

"The Master's program is explicitly not just for IT cracks."

Prof. Wolter, Computer Science

"In the data science program application-oriented specialists are trained who can analyse the large data-sets that are already emerging today in various areas, derive knowledge from them and generate added value".

Prof. Conrad, Mathematics

"The main aim here is to provide students with specialist knowledge in contemporary data analysis techniques and application domains. For us, data science is the confluence of statistics, machine learning and artificial intelligence, as well as domain-specific problem solving."

Prof. Ostwald, Computational Cognitive Neuroscience

Requirements

The prerequisite for an application for the Master's programme is a completed university degree of at least six semesters. At least 15 credit points must have been completed in mathematical courses and 5 credit points in programming courses. In addition, English language skills must be proven at least at level B2 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages.

The course is interdisciplinary and is supported by the following institutions.

What will happen in the first semester?

Profile Areas

  • Data Science in the Social Sciences
  • Data Science in the Life Sciences
  • Data Science Technologies

Für wen ist der Studiengang geeignet?

"Das Angebot des Masterstudiengangs richtet sich explizit nicht nur an IT-Cracks" 

Prof. Wolter, Informatik

"In diesem Studiengang werden anwendungsorientierte Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten ausgebildet, die die bereits heute entstehenden Datenberge in verschiedenen Bereichen analysieren und daraus Wissen ableiten und Mehrwert generieren können”

Prof. Conrad, Mathematik

"Es geht hier vor allem darum, den Studierenden Fachwissen aus verschiedenen Anwendungsbereichen und Methodenkompetenz zur wertschöpfenden Nutzung der jeweiligen Daten zu vermitteln. Data Science betrachten wir dabei als Verbindung dieser beiden Bereiche.“

Prof. Ostwald, Computational Cognitive Neuroscience

Voraussetzungen

Voraussetzung für eine Bewerbung in dem Masterstudiengang ist ein abgeschlossenes berufsqualifizierendes Studium mit einem Umfang von mindestens sechs Semestern. Davon müssen mindestens 15 Leistungspunkte in mathematischen Kursen sowie 5 Leistungspunkte in Programmierkursen absolviert worden sein. Zusätzlich müssen englische Sprachkenntnisse mindestens auf der Niveaustufe B2 des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen nachgewiesen werden.

Der Studiengang ist interdisziplinär und wird von den folgenden Einrichtungen getragen.

Was erwartet mich im ersten Semester?

Profilbereiche

  • Data Science in the Social Sciences
  • Data Science in the Life Sciences
  • Data Science Technologies