Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Master's Thesis

Master’s Thesis with Oral Presentation (30 credits)

The master’s thesis is meant to prove the student’s ability to work independently on an advanced problem from the bioinformatical field using scientific methods, as well as the student's ability to evaluate the findings appropriately and to depict them both orally and in written form in an adequate manner. (SPO 2019, § 9)

Please read § 9 of the Study/Examination regulations (SPO 2019)

Extract from the Regualtions:

  • Students can only be admitted to the master's thesis if they have successfully completed modules totaling 60 credits or more within the master's degree program.
  • The master's thesis should be approximately 70 pages in length.
  • The processing time is 23 weeks. Note: An extension is not possible. If your thesis is delayed for an important reason (for which you are not responsible), please contact the Examination Office with the relevant supporting documents.
  • The written part must be written in English.
  • The master's thesis must be evaluated by two examiners. One of the two examiners should be the supervisor of the master's thesis. At least one of the two authorized examiners must be involved in teaching the master's program and simultaneously be a lecturer at the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science or the Department of Biology, Chemistry, Pharmacy of the Freie Universität Berlin or at Charité.
  • If approved by the examining board, the work on the master's thesis can also be done externally at a suitable business or scientific or research institution, as long as scientific and scholarly supervision by an examiner in the program in bioinformatics is ensured.
  • The master's thesis is accompanied by a colloquium, which usually takes place in the assigned working group. Students are expected to give a one-time presentation lasting approximately 30 minutes on the progress of their master's thesis.

The Informationen des Prüfungsbüros offer further information concerning the registration and submitting regulations of the master’s thesis (in German). The registration form is available in English.

Every summer semester the Mentoringreferat organizes the workshop “How to write a bachelor’s / master’s thesis in bioinformatics” (in German). Here you receive helpful tips and are free to ask your questions.

Masterarbeit

Masterarbeit mit begleitendem Kolloquium (30 LP)

"Die Masterarbeit soll zeigen, dass die oder der Studierende in der Lage ist, eine fortgeschrittene Aufgabenstellung aus dem Bereich der Bioinformatik mit wissenschaftlichen Methoden selbständig zu bearbeiten und die gewonnen Kenntnisse schriftlich und mündlich angemessen darzustellen und zu bewerten." (SPO 2019, § 9)

Bitte lesen Sie die FAQ Abschlussarbeit und § 9 der Studien- und Prüfungsordnung (SPO 2019)!

Auszug aus der SPO:

  • Studierende können nur dann zur Masterarbeit zugelassen werden, wenn sie Module von mindestens 60 LP im Masterstudiengang Bioinformatik erfolgreich absolviert haben.
  • Die Masterarbeit soll ca. 70 Seiten umfassen.
  • Die Bearbeitungzeit beträgt 23 Wochen. Hinweis: Eine Verlängerung ist nicht vorgesehen. Falls sich Ihre Arbeit aus einem wichtigen (von Ihnen nicht verschuldeten) Grund verzögert, wenden Sie sich bitte mit entsprechenden Belegen an das Prüfungsbüro.
  • Der schriftliche Teil muss in englischer Sprache abgefasst werden.
  • Die Masterarbeit wird von zwei Prüfungsberechtigten bewertet. Eine oder einer der beiden Prüfungsberechtigten soll die Betreuerin oder der Betreuer der Masterarbeit sein. Mindestens eine oder einer der beiden Prüfungsberechtigten muss an der Lehre im Masterstudiengang beteiligt und zugleich Hochschullehrer*in am Fachbereich Mathematik und Informatik oder am Fachbereich Biologie, Chemie, Pharmazie der Freien Universität Berlin oder an der Charité sein.
  • Mit Zustimmung des Prüfungsausschusses kann die Masterarbeit auch extern in einem geeigneten Betrieb oder in einer wissenschaftlichen Einrichtung angefertigt werden, sofern die wissenschaftliche Betreuung durch eine Prüferin oder einen Prüfer im Studiengang Bioinformatik gewährleistet ist.
  • Die Masterarbeit wird durch ein Kolloquium begleitet, das in der Regel in der zugeordneten Arbeitsgruppe stattfindet. Die Studierenden sollen einmal einen ca. 30-minütigen Vortrag über den Fortgang ihrer Masterarbeit halten.

Zur Anmeldung und Abgabe der Masterarbeit beachten Sie bitte außerdem die Allgemeinen Hinweise des Prüfungsbüros. Bitte verwenden Sie das Formular "Anmeldung zur Masterarbeit". Sie finden es ebenfalls auf den Seiten des Prüfungsbüros!

Bitte beachten Sie:

Zum Thema "Wie schreibe ich eine Abschlussarbeit in der Bioinformatik?" gibt es jeweils im Sommersemester eine vom Mentoringreferat organisierte Veranstaltung. Sie richtet sich v.a. an Bachelorabsolventen, ist aber auch nützlich für Masterstudierende.

eVV SoSe 19