Open Thesis Topics

10Theses

Development of Cryptographic Protocols for the Secure Transfer of Medical Data between Web Services and Smartphones

Academic Advisor: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard , Marian Margraf
Degree: Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Status: available

Within the scope of this master thesis, it will be investigated how medical (particularly protective) data can be exchanged securely between web services and smartphones (Android) or between web services. The goal of the master thesis is the development of cryptographic protocols for secure data transfer.

In the future, patients will store all their health data on their smartphone (see M1721). Patients can link their smartphones to the web service of a physician for the duration of the treatment, thus releasing their data. In the case that a patient is treated b more than one physician at the same time, the data of a physician should also be accessible to other physicians.

Development of Cryptographic Protocols for the Secure Transfer of Medical Data between Patients with Mobile Devices

Academic Advisor: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard , Marian Margraf
Degree: Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Status: available

Within the scope of this master thesis, it will be investigated how medical (especially protective) data can safely be transferred between two smartphones (Android). The goal of the master thesis is the development of cryptographic protocols for secure data transfer.

In the future, patients will store all their health data on their smartphone (see M1721). The smartphone supports the patient in his/her recovery process by providing his or her own data, as well as data of other patients with whom the patient has built a network to achieve health-oriented goals (in competition or cooperatively).

Usage of Security Mechanisms in Smartphones to Store Sensitive Data

Academic Advisor: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard , Marian Margraf
Degree: Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Status: available

Within the scope of this master thesis, we will investigate how security mechanisms can be used to safely store sensitive (especially protective) data on a smartphone. The basic assumption is that the amount of data to be stored has a size that exceeds the size of the secure element of a smartphone. The goal is that data stored in a database on the smartphone will remain secure even after a hacker attack on the operating system (administration rights in Android). The data should be read and written by an authorized application on the smartphone (Android app) and by an authorized web service.

Determining the 3D Structure of Bones Using Neural Networks on X-Ray Images

Academic Advisor: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard , Peter Böttcher
Degree: Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Status: assigned

CT (Computer Tomography) is an imaging procedure used to create 3-dimensional images of certain body regions. These images assist doctors by providing essential information about their patients, which is relevant to their further treatment. This procedure, however, exposes patients to high doses of radiation. This drawback motivates us to look for alternative, less harmful methods that can nevertheless provide relevant 3D information about a body region.

The goal of this thesis is to develop such a method. Specifically, neural networks should be used to match 2-dimensional X-ray (Roentgen) images to their corresponding 3D structures. An X-ray scan is much less harmful to a patient than a CT scan.

Hint: Knowledge of neural networks and image processing are desirable, but not necessary.

Design of a Mobile Application for the Evaluation of Dermatological Parameters

Academic Advisor: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard , Joachim Flur , Max Noah (CEO SkinCare Revolution)
Degree: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Status: available

On the skin care market there exist approx. 100,000 differently standardized skin care products for various applications. The typical consumer is overwhelmed by product diversity and receives no or insufficient advice in retail. 4 of 5 consumers buy unsuitable products due to this fact and lack of knowledge. Long-term use of unsuitable products is damaging the skin of many customers.

Large cosmetic companies, such as Loreal, are still unable to offer personalized skin care products since they do not have direct contact with the customer. The goal of this thesis is the design, development and evaluation of a mobile application, which is based on a predefined, measurable number of skin parameters, to give a personalized product recommendation to the user.

The thesis is actively supported by Max Noah in cooperation with the Charité Berlin and supported with a setting of usability testers. After successful completion of the thesis, there is also the possibility of longer-term employment.
Knowledge of User-centered Design and experience with the programming of mobile applications (Android / iOS) are desirable but not required.

Visualization of Blood Values

Academic Advisor: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard
Degree: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Status: assigned

In many situations, the blood of a patient is taken and analyzed by a laboratory. The result of these analyzes is still today a data set consisting of many numbers and cryptic names. The goal of this thesis is the design, implementation and evaluation of a suitable visualization of blood values for physician, but also for patients.

In the first step, ideas can be suitable. The second step is to implement a prototype on the previous ideas. Knowledge of JavaScript and infographics and practical experience with Android applications are desirable, but not necessary.

Trip Classification for Driver Logbook

Academic Advisor: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard
Degree: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Status: assigned

The company "IAV Ingenieursgesellschaft Auto und Verkehrs GmbH" is modernizing its own fleet. Within the scope of this conversion, a digitized logbook with automatic travel detection of private and operational journeys is developed.

The goal of this thesis is the design, development and evaluation of a digital travel book, which collects and classifies semi-automated different types of journeys and makes suggestions to the user.

Basics in pattern recognition and practical experience with Android applications are desirable but not necessary.

Gathering and Visualizing Bio-Data from Wearable Devices

Academic Advisor: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard
Degree: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Status: assigned

Many people already use so-called "wearables" to monitor their fitness. In doing so, some bio-data, such as blood pressure, can be recorded directly from the patient and tracked live.

The aim of this thesis is the design, development and evaluation of a software solution, which allows the patient to obtain his or her bio-data in a relevant and suitable form, like the S Health application from Samsung, and, at the same time, allows the attending physician to gain insight into the patient's health as well as trends in the development of the patient's medical condition.

Knowledge in JavaScript and practical experience with Android applications are desirable but not necessary.

Gathering Life Patterns from Patients through Mobile Devices

Academic Advisor: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard
Degree: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Status: assigned

Since today almost every patient has a smartphone, the life patterns of patients can be determined by their GPS data. These life patterns enable physicians to gain deeper insight into a patient's life. For this purpose, first the GPS data are recorded in the form of trajectories, then stored and subsequently evaluated. The findings from thus gained life patterns should be available in a relevant and graphically appealing form to a physician.

The aim of this thesis is the design, implementation and evaluation of a software solution that allows physicians to determine a more accurate picture, in the form of a life patterns of their patients.Knowledge of Trajectory Data Mining and practical experience with Android applications are desirable but not necessary.

Temporal Network Analysis based on E-Mail Data

Academic Advisor: Nicolas Lehmann , Oliver Wiese
Degree: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Status: assigned

Many people are writing e-mails on a daily basis. All have different reasons to write them. From birthday wishes to high sensible data like passwords. With that in mind not many people are using encryption while writing e-mails.

The goal of this Bachelor thesis is to discover, how many people need to use encryption, that 20%/40%/60%/80%/100% of the communication is secured. A further goal is a temporal analysis, to discover, if the encryption has more impact at different times of a day. The result also have to be visualized in this thesis.

Offene Themen

10Abschlussarbeit(en)

Development of Cryptographic Protocols for the Secure Transfer of Medical Data between Web Services and Smartphones

Betreuer: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard , Marian Margraf
Abschluss: Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Status: verfügbar

Im Rahmen dieser Masterarbeit soll untersucht werden, wie medizinische (besonders schützenswerte) Daten sicher zwischen Webservices und Smartphones (Android) oder zwischen Webservices untereinander ausgetauscht werden können. Das Ziel der Masterarbeit ist die Entwicklung kryptographischer Protokolle für den sicheren Datentransfer.

Patienten speichern in Zukunft alle ihre Gesundheitsdaten auf ihrem Smartphone (siehe M1721). Patienten können ihre Smartphones für die Dauer der Behandlung mit dem Webservice des behandelnden Arztes koppeln und so seine Daten freigeben. Für den Fall, dass mehrere Ärzte gleichzeitig einen Patienten behandeln sollen die Daten eines Arztes auch anderen Ärzten zugänglich sein.

Voraussetzungen:

  • Grundkenntnisse im Bereich IT-Sicherheit
  • Grundverständnis von Android

Development of Cryptographic Protocols for the Secure Transfer of Medical Data between Patients with Mobile Devices

Betreuer: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard , Marian Margraf
Abschluss: Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Status: verfügbar

Im Rahmen dieser Masterarbeit soll untersucht werden, wie medizinische (besonders schützenswerte) Daten sicher zwischen zwei Smartphones (Android) ausgetauscht werden können. Das Ziel der Masterarbeit ist die Entwicklung kryptographischer Protokolle für den sicheren Datentransfer.
Patienten speichern in Zukunft alle ihre Gesundheitsdaten auf ihrem Smartphone (siehe M1721). Das Smartphone unterstützt den Patienten in seinem Genesungsprozess durch das Bereitstellen eigener Daten, aber auch von Daten andere Patienten, mit denen sich der Patient vernetzt hat um gemeinsam (im Wettbewerb oder kooperativ) gesundheitsorientierte Ziele zu erreichen.

Voraussetzungen:

  • Grundkenntnisse im Bereich IT-Sicherheit
  • Grundverständnis von Android

Usage of Security Mechanisms in Smartphones to Store Sensitive Data

Betreuer: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard , Marian Margraf
Abschluss: Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Status: verfügbar

Im Rahmen dieser Masterarbeit soll untersucht werden, wie Sicherheitsmechanismen dazu verwendet werden können um sensible (besonders schützenswerte) Daten sicher auf einem Smartphone speichern zu können. Dabei soll die Grundannahme gelten, dass die zu speichernde Datenmenge eine Größe hat, die die des Secure Elements eines Smartphones überschreitet. Daten, die in einer Datenbank auf dem Smartphone gespeichert werden, sollen auch nach einem Hacker-Angriff auf das Betriebssystem (Administrationsrechte in Android) weiterhin sicher bleiben. Die Daten sollen von einer autorisierten Anwendung auf dem Smartphone (Android App) und von einem autorisierten Webservice gelesen und geschrieben werden können.

Voraussetzungen:

  • Grundkenntnisse im Bereich IT-Sicherheit
  • Grundverständnis von Android

Determining the 3D Structure of Bones Using Neural Networks on X-Ray Images

Betreuer: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard , Peter Böttcher
Abschluss: Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Status: vergeben

CT-Untersuchungen sind ein bildgebendes Verfahren, welches dazu dient, die dreidimensionale Struktur einer Körperregion darzustellen und hiermit dem Arzt essentielle Informationen für eine weitere Behandlung seines Patienten zu liefern. CT-Untersuchungen setzen den Patienten jedoch einer starken Strahlenbelastung aus. Daher wäre es wünschenswert, Verfahren zu entwickeln, die auch ohne ein CT auf die 3D-Struktur einer Körperregion schließen lassen.

Das Ziel dieser Arbeit ist die Entwicklung eines solchen Verfahrens. Hierbei sollen neuronale Netzwerke zum Einsatz kommen, die auf zweidimensionalen Röntgen-Aufnahmen arbeiten würden und sie möglichst genau ihren entsprechenden dreidimensionalen Strukturen zuordnen würden. Eine Röntgen-Untersuchung ist nämlich immer viel schonender für den Patienten als eine CT-Untersuchung.

Design of a Mobile Application for the Evaluation of Dermatological Parameters

Betreuer: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard , Joachim Flur , Max Noah (CEO SkinCare Revolution)
Abschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Status: verfügbar

Auf dem Hautpflegemarkt existieren ca. 100.000 unterschiedlich standardisierte Hautpflegeprodukte für verschiedene Anwendungszwecke. Der typische Konsument ist durch die Produktvielfalt überfordert und erhält im Einzelhandel keine oder eine nur unzureichende Beratung. 4 von 5 Konsumenten kaufen aufgrund dieses Sachverhaltes und fehlendem Wissen für sie ungeeignete Produkte. Durch die langfristige Anwendung ungeeigneter Produkte schaden viel Kunden ihrer Haut.

Große Kosmetikunternehmen, wie Loreal sind bis heute nicht in der Lage personalisierte Hautpflegeprodukte anzubieten, da sie nicht über einen direkten Kontakt zum Kunden verfügen. Das Ziel dieser These ist das Design, die Entwicklung und die Evaluation einer mobilen Endanwendung, die anhand von einer vordefinierten, messbaren Anzahl von Hautparametern, eine für den Nutzer personalisierte Produktempfehlung ausspricht.

Die These wird aktive durch Max Noah in Kooperation mit der Charité Berlin begleitet und durch das Stellen von Usability-Testern unterstützt. Nach erfolgreicher Beendigung der These besteht zusätzlich die Möglichkeit einer längerfristigen Beschäftigung.

Kenntnisse in User-Centered Design und Erfahrung mit der Programmierung von mobilen Endanwendungen (Android/iOS) sind wünschenswert, aber nicht erforderlich.

Visualization of Blood Values

Betreuer: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard
Abschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Status: vergeben

In vielen Situationen wird einem Patienten Blut abgenommen und durch ein Labor analysiert. Das Ergebnis dieser Analysen ist bis heute ein Datensatz, der aus vielen Zahlen und kryptischen Bezeichnungen besteht. Das Ziel dieser These ist die Entwicklung einer geeigneten Visualisierung für den betreuenden Arzt, aber auch für den betreuten Patienten.

Im ersten Schritt sollen Ideen für geeignete Visualisierungen gefunden werden. Im zweiten Schritt soll basierend auf den vorangegangenen Ideen, ein Prototyp implementiert werden.

Kenntnisse in JavaScript und Infografiken sowie praktische Erfahrungen mit Android Applikationen sind wünschenswert, aber nicht unbedingt nötig.

Trip Classification for Driver Logbook

Betreuer: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard
Abschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Status: vergeben

Die Firma „IAV Ingenieursgesellschaft Auto und Verkehr GmbH“ modernisiert den eigenen Fuhrpark. Im Rahmen dieser Umstellung wird ein digitalisiertes Fahrtenbuch mit automatischer Fahrtenerkennung von privaten und betrieblichen Fahrten entwickelt.

Das Ziel dieser Bachelorarbeit ist der Entwurf, die Entwicklung und die Evaluation eines digitalen Fahrtenbuchs das semi-automatisiert verschiedene Arten von Fahrten erfasst und klassifiziert und dem Benutzer Vorschläge zur Art seiner Fahrt macht.

Grundkenntnisse in Mustererkennung und praktische Erfahrung mit Android Applikationen sind wünschenswert, aber nicht unbedingt nötig.

Gathering and Visualizing Bio-Data from Wearable Devices

Betreuer: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard
Abschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Status: vergeben

Viele Menschen nutzen heute bereits sogenannte „Wearables“ um ihre Fitness zu überwachen. Dabei können bereits einige Bio-Daten, wie zum Beispiel Blutdruck direkt vom Patienten aufgenommen und live getrackt werden.

Das Ziel dieser These ist der Entwurf, die Entwicklung und die Evaluation einer Softwarelösung, die es zum einen dem Patienten ermöglicht seine Bio-Daten in relevanter und geeigneter Form zu erhalten und zum anderen dem betreuenden Arzt erlaubt jederzeit Einblicke in den Gesundheitszustand seines Patienten zu erhalten sowie Trends in der Entwicklung des Gesundheitszustandes seines Patienten zu erkennen.

Kenntnisse in JavaScript und praktische Erfahrung mit Android Applikationen sind wünschenswert, aber nicht unbedingt nötig.

Gathering Life Patterns from Patients through Mobile Devices

Betreuer: Nicolas Lehmann , Agnès Voisard
Abschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Status: vergeben

Da heutzutage fast jeder Patient ein Smartphone besitzt, können die Lebensmuster von Patienten aufgrund ihrer GPS Daten bestimmt werden. Diese Lebensmuster ermöglichen Ärzten einen tieferen Einblick in das Leben ihrer Patienten. Hierfür werden die GPS-Daten in Form von Trajektorien zuerst erfasst, dann gespeichert und anschließend ausgewertet. Die Erkenntnisse aus den so gewonnen Lebensmustern sollen in relevanter und grafisch ansprechender Form final einem Arzt zur Verfügung gestellt werden können.

Das Ziel dieser These ist die Entwicklung, die Implementierung und die Evaluierung einer Softwarelösung, die es Ärzten ermöglicht ein genaueres Bild, in Form von Lebensmustern ihrer Patienten, zu bestimmen. Kenntnisse in Trajektorien Data Mining und praktische Erfahrungen mit Android Applikationen sind wünschenswert, aber nicht unbedingt nötig.

Temporal Network Analysis based on E-Mail Data

Betreuer: Nicolas Lehmann , Oliver Wiese
Abschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Status: vergeben

Viele Menschen schreiben tagtäglich E-Mails aus unterschiedlichen Beweggründungen. Sei es, um einfache Geburtstagswünsche oder, um hochsensible Passwörter/Daten zu verschicken. Dabei benutzt nur ein Bruchteil dieser Personen irgendeine Art von Verschlüsselung.

Das Ziel dieser Bachelorarbeit ist, herauszufinden, wie viele Personen in einem Netzwerk Verschlüsselungen einsetzen müssten, damit 20%/40%/60%/80%/100% der Kommunikation sicher wäre. Ein ergänzendes Ziel ist die zeitliche Analyse der Kommunikation, um herauszufinden, ob zu bestimmten Uhrzeiten die Verschlüsselung der Kommunikation mehr Auswirkung auf die Sicherheit hat. Die Ergebnisse sollen im Rahmen der Abschlussarbeit entsprechend visualisiert werden.