Finished Theses

3Theses

Castaño, Luisa: Short-Term Quantitative Precipitation Forecacsting using Radar Data and Neural Networks

Academic Advisor: Paras Mehta , Agnès Voisard
Degree: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)

The short-term prediction of rainfall based on radar data is an important part of meteorology with uses that vary from flood prevention through traffic control to event planning. Modern systems allow for highly accurate approximation of the probability of rain within G hours, but not vet for the specific amount. The goal of the CIKM AnalytiCup 2017 is to improve existing systems to predict liquid precipitation quantities with 1 hour lead time by using exactly 1.5 hours of accumulated radar data.

Existing systems use computer vision algorithms to track convective cells and an empirical mathematical relation to convert the reflectivity values of these to rain rates, aside from complex physical simulations. Furthermore, they have more information available, such as wind direction and speed, temperature, atmospheric pressure, and topography. The first goal of this thesis is to solely use radar echo extrapolation data to achieve predictions with a RMSE lower than 14.G9 lnm/li. the second goal is to explore the performance of the statistical model used against a state-of-the-art Quantitative Precipitation Forecasting (QPF) system. Since the relationship between reflectivity values and the amount of rain is strongly non-linear, and given that artificial neural networks (ANN) are able to approximate any function in Mn, this thesis evaluated different reknown architectures of Convolutional Neural Networks as predictions models for the described problem. Although the set baseline was not reached, the comparison against a chosen industry-based QPF left a promising indicator for further research.

Zocher, Erik: Data Analysis Tool for the EU H2020 City.Risks Operation Center

Academic Advisor: Agnès Voisard , Paras Mehta
Degree: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Project:

The bachelor thesis is about the implementation of a Data Analysis Tool for the City.Risks Project funded by the Horizon 2020 (H2020) European Research and Innovation program. The aim is to develop an interface that is easy to interact with but in the same time provides all the necessary tools to conveniently gain knowledge out of a large dataset. This is achieved by using a search engine for the implementation and various user-centered design methods to design a ser-friendly graphical user-interface that provides visualizations of the dataset as well as the possibility to search through the dataset by keywords. The underlying functionality is achieved by implementing a search engine with Lucene and Elasticsearch. The design of the user interface is realized by iteratively applying user-centered design methods like heuristic evaluation, action analysis and think-aloud.

Saringer, Jim: CaSe - A Categorical Scheduler

Academic Advisor: Agnès Voisard , Nicolas Lehmann
Degree: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)

In the field of crisis management, a swift coordination of staff with special abilities as well as the determination of the required quantity and current availability of the respective professionals is necessary to solve arising problems. In particular, schedule coordination between different authorities that do not share a calendaring system is cumbersome and can be quite time consuming, depending on the number of participants. Within the scope of this Bachelor thesis an application is developed to support the personnel planning of a safety authority.

When an appointment is created, the system determines in advance how many people from previously defined categories are required in order to ensure that the appropriate number of qualified personnel appear at the event. Participants can be easily assigned to an event from an existing contact list. If individual invitees cannot attend the event, they can be easily replaced by other persons of the respective categories.

The contacts can be imported from common contact applications, such as Google Contacts or Microsoft Outlook, and each contact be assigned to freely definable categories.

In the context of this thesis a main focus is the development of userfriendly interfaces. The herefore applied method is User-Centered Design which allows a user-based analyze of software requirements. Based on the results a low-fidelity prototype is developed, in the following refined into a high-fidelity prototype and subsequently implemented.

Abgeschlossene Arbeiten

3Abschlussarbeit(en)

Castaño, Luisa: Short-Term Quantitative Precipitation Forecacsting using Radar Data and Neural Networks

Betreuer: Paras Mehta , Agnès Voisard
Abschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)

Die auf Radardaten basierte kurzfristige Vorhersage von Regenmengen ist ein wichtiger Bereich der Metheorologie, dessen Auswirkungen von Hochwasserschutz über Verkehrskontrolle bis zu Veranstaltungsplanung betreffen. Moderne Systeme erstellen hoch akkurate Einschätzungen der Regenwahr-scheinlichkeit innerhalb G Stunden, aber noch nicht der genauen Quantität. Das Ziel der CIKM AnalytiCup 2017 ist, die existierende Systeme für Vorhersage mit 1 Std. Vorlaufzeit von fiiißigen Niederschalgsmengen zu verbessern unter der Nutzung von 1.5 Stunden akkummuliereten Radardaten.

Existierende Systeme verwenden neben komplexen physikalischen Simulationen. Computer Vision Algorithmen um Konvektionszellen zu verfolgen, und eine mathematische Relation (Marshall & Palmer) um die Rcfickt.ionswerte dieser in Regenraten umzuwandeln. Darüber hinaus, verfügen diese Systeme über mehr Information, wie zum Beispiel Windgeschwindigkeit und -richtung, Temperatur, Luftdruck, und Topographie. Das erste Ziel dieser Arbeit ist die Vorhersage von Regenmengen mit einem RMSE besser als 14.G9 lnm/li. nur unter Verwendung von Radar Echo Extrapolationsdaten. Das zweite Ziel der Arbeit ist die Evaluation des erstellten Vorhersagemo-dells im Vergleich mit einem state-of-the-art Quantitative Precipitation Fo-recasting (QPF) System. Da die Relation zwischen Rcfickt ionswerten und Regenmenge stark nicht-linear ist und Artifizielle Neurale Netze (ANN) jede Funktion in Rn approximieren können, wurden in dieser Arbeit verschiedene etablierte Convolutional Neural Network (CNN) Architekturen als Vorhersagemodelle für das beschriebene Problem evaluiert. Obwohl die vorgegebene Performance-Baseline nicht erreicht wurde, stellen die Ergebnisse des Vergleichs mit dem professionellen QPF-System vielversprechendes weiteres Forschungspotenzial in Aussicht .

Zocher, Erik: Data Analysis Tool for the EU H2020 City.Risks Operation Center

Betreuer: Agnès Voisard , Paras Mehta
Abschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Projekt:

Die vorliegende Bachelorarbeit behandelt die Entwicklung eines Datenanalysetools für das von der europäischen Union im Rahmen des Forschungs- und Innovationsprogramms Horizon 2020 geförderten Projekts City.Risks. Ziel ist, eine Benutzeroberfläche zu entwickeln mit der sich leicht interagieren lässt, welche gleichzeitig alle nötigen Werkzeuge zur Verfügung stellt, um auf einfache Art und Weise neue Einsichten aus einem großen Datensatz zu erhalten sowie die Möglichkeit in dem Datensatz nach Schlagwörtern zu suchen. Die zugrundeliegende Funktionalität wird durch die Implementierung einer Suchmaschine mit Lucene und Elasticsearch erreicht. Der Entwurf der Benutzerschnittstelle wird durch die wiederholte Anwendung von nutzerzentrierten Designmethoden wie heuristische Auswertung, Aktionsanalyse und Think-Aloud realisiert.

Saringer, Jim: CaSe - A Categorical Scheduler

Betreuer: Agnès Voisard , Nicolas Lehmann
Abschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)

Im Bereich des Krisenmanagements ist eine rasche Koordination von Mitarbeitern mit besonderen Fähigkeiten sowie die Bestimmung der benötigten Teilnehmeranzahl und Verfügbarkeit zur Problemlösung notwendig. Insbesondere die Terminkoordination zwischen verschiedenen Behörden die nicht über einen gemeinsamen Terminkalender verfügen gestaltet sich umständlich und fordert abhängig von der Teilnehmeranzahl einen erheblichen Zeitaufwand. Im Rahmen dieser Bachelorarbeit wurde eine Anwendung zur Unterstützung der personellen Planung einer Sicherheitsbehörde entwickelt.

Um zu gewährleisten, dass bei einem Termin die gewünschte Anzahl von Personen aus verschiedenen Bereichen erscheinen, wird bei Erstellung eines Termins vorab festgelegt wie viele Personen aus vorher definierten Kategorien erforderlich sind. Dem Termin werden dann Teilnehmer aus einer vorhandenen Kontaktliste zugeordnet. Bei Absagen von einzelnen Teilnehmern können diese komfortabel durch andere Personen der jeweiligen Kategorien ersetzt werden.

Die Kontakte sollen aus gängigen Kontaktanwendungen wie Google Kontakte oder Microsoft Outlook importiert und mit frei definierbaren Kategorien verbunden werden können.

Der besondere Fokus dieser Arbeit liegt auf der Entwicklung benutzerfreundlicher Interfaces. Hierzu wird die Methode des User-Centered Designs verwendet um durch eine benutzernahe Bedürfnisanalyse Anforderungen an das System zu erheben. Im Anschluss daran erfolgt die Erstellung von hochgranularen Prototypen welche letztendlich in feingranularen Prototypen implementiert werden.