Jim Saringer

CaSe - A Categorical Scheduler

Academic Advisor: Agnès Voisard , Nicolas Lehmann
Degree: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)

Abstract

In the field of crisis management, a swift coordination of staff with special abilities as well as the determination of the required quantity and current availability of the respective professionals is necessary to solve arising problems. In particular, schedule coordination between different authorities that do not share a calendaring system is cumbersome and can be quite time consuming, depending on the number of participants. Within the scope of this Bachelor thesis an application is developed to support the personnel planning of a safety authority.

When an appointment is created, the system determines in advance how many people from previously defined categories are required in order to ensure that the appropriate number of qualified personnel appear at the event. Participants can be easily assigned to an event from an existing contact list. If individual invitees cannot attend the event, they can be easily replaced by other persons of the respective categories.

The contacts can be imported from common contact applications, such as Google Contacts or Microsoft Outlook, and each contact be assigned to freely definable categories.

In the context of this thesis a main focus is the development of userfriendly interfaces. The herefore applied method is User-Centered Design which allows a user-based analyze of software requirements. Based on the results a low-fidelity prototype is developed, in the following refined into a high-fidelity prototype and subsequently implemented.

Jim Saringer

CaSe - A Categorical Scheduler

Betreuer: Agnès Voisard , Nicolas Lehmann
Abschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)

Kurzbeschreibung

Im Bereich des Krisenmanagements ist eine rasche Koordination von Mitarbeitern mit besonderen Fähigkeiten sowie die Bestimmung der benötigten Teilnehmeranzahl und Verfügbarkeit zur Problemlösung notwendig. Insbesondere die Terminkoordination zwischen verschiedenen Behörden die nicht über einen gemeinsamen Terminkalender verfügen gestaltet sich umständlich und fordert abhängig von der Teilnehmeranzahl einen erheblichen Zeitaufwand. Im Rahmen dieser Bachelorarbeit wurde eine Anwendung zur Unterstützung der personellen Planung einer Sicherheitsbehörde entwickelt.

Um zu gewährleisten, dass bei einem Termin die gewünschte Anzahl von Personen aus verschiedenen Bereichen erscheinen, wird bei Erstellung eines Termins vorab festgelegt wie viele Personen aus vorher definierten Kategorien erforderlich sind. Dem Termin werden dann Teilnehmer aus einer vorhandenen Kontaktliste zugeordnet. Bei Absagen von einzelnen Teilnehmern können diese komfortabel durch andere Personen der jeweiligen Kategorien ersetzt werden.

Die Kontakte sollen aus gängigen Kontaktanwendungen wie Google Kontakte oder Microsoft Outlook importiert und mit frei definierbaren Kategorien verbunden werden können.

Der besondere Fokus dieser Arbeit liegt auf der Entwicklung benutzerfreundlicher Interfaces. Hierzu wird die Methode des User-Centered Designs verwendet um durch eine benutzernahe Bedürfnisanalyse Anforderungen an das System zu erheben. Im Anschluss daran erfolgt die Erstellung von hochgranularen Prototypen welche letztendlich in feingranularen Prototypen implementiert werden.